The Global Books Research Platform
For Book Lovers, Libraries, Academics, Companies…
Subject headings
  • Fiction & related items
  • Children's, young adult & educational
  • Bibles
  • Biography & True Stories
  • CGN004230
  • Comics & Graphic Novels
  • Computing & information technology
  • Design
  • Earth sciences, geography, environment, planning
  • Economics, finance, business & management
  • English language teaching (ELT)
  • Health & personal development
  • Humanities
  • Language
  • Law
  • Lifestyle, sport & leisure
  • Literature & literary studies
  • Mathematics & science
  • Medicine
  • Nature / General
    • Animal Rights
    • Animals
    • Bears
    • Birds & Birdwatching
    • Butterflies & Moths
    • Dinosaurs
    • Earthquakes & Volcanoes
    • Ecology
    • Ecosystems & Habitats
    • Endangered Species*
    • Environmental Conservation & Protection
    • Essays
    • Fish
    • Flowers
    • Fossils
    • Horses
    • Insects & Spiders
    • Lakes & Ponds
    • Mammals
    • Marine Life
    • Mountains
    • Mushrooms
    • Natural Disasters
    • Natural Resources
    • Oceans & Seas
    • Plants
    • Reference
    • Regional*
    • Reptiles & Amphibians
    • Rivers
    • Rocks & Minerals
    • Seashells
    • Seasons
    • Star Observation
    • Trees & Forests
    • Weather
    • Wildlife
  • Reference, information & interdisciplinary subjects
  • Society & social sciences
  • Technology, engineering, agriculture
  • The arts
Oakleaf Books on Facebook Follow Oakleaf Books on Twitter
Too Big to Walk: the New Science of Dinosaurs
Too Big to Walk: the New Science of Dinosaurs
Click to enlarge
Author(s): Ford, Brian J.
ISBN No.: 9780008311070
Pages: 528
Year: 201901
Format: Trade Cloth (Hard Cover)
Price: £20.93
Dispatch delay: Dispatched between 7 to 15 days
Status: Available (Active record)

Ever since Jurassic Park we thought we knew how dinosaurs lived their lives. In this remarkable new book, Brian J. Ford reveals that dinosaurs were, in fact, profoundly different from what we believe, and their environment was unlike anything we have previously thought. In this meticulous and absorbing account, Ford reviews the latest scientific evidence to show that the popular accounts of dinosaurs' lives contain ideas that are no more than convenient inventions: how dinosaurs mated, how they hunted and communicated, how they nursed their young, even how they moved. He uncovers many surprising details which challenge our most deeply-held beliefs - such as the revelation that an asteroid impact did not end the dinosaurs' existence. Professor Ford's illuminating examination changes everything. As he unravels the history of the world, we discover that evolution was not Charles Darwin's idea; there were many philosophers who published the theory before him. The concept of continental drift and plate tectonics did not begin with Alfred Wegener a century ago, but dates back to learned pioneers hundreds of years before his time.


Ever since scientists first began to study dinosaurs, they have travelled with each other down the wrong path, and Ford now shows how this entire branch of science has to be rewritten. A new dinosaur species is announced every ten days, and more and more information is currently being discovered about how they may have lived: locomotion, hunting, nesting behaviour, distribution, extinction. Ford brings together these amazing discoveries in this controversial new book which undoubtedly will ruffle a few feathers, or scales if you are an old-school dinosaur lover. Gold title * A perennial favourite subject with readers of all ages, this groundbreaking new book will appeal to fans of Jurassic Park and Walking with Dinosaurs. * Dinosaurs are the most vivid, commanding and powerful icons of Earth's history. As a group, they continue to intrigue. * Contains exclusive new research-based evidence which challenges traditional dinosaur theory - and will be the subject of controversy and lively debate.


Find Books, eBooks, Bibles, Children's Books, Design Books, Fiction, Graphic Novels, School, Science and Medicine Books -- Books for all Academic Subjects in this Bookshop.